Design.

I started this course thinking i wanted to be a graphic designer – now while that’s true, i think now its expanded to ‘i just want to make stuff i like’. Finding a place where i can earn money to live and also enjoy my time is going to be an interesting experience to say the least. I’ve come to the conclusion that any job in the area i want to work in will do, because i’m not under the impression i’ll find my perfect job almost instantly like a lot of graduates are.

This post is really about thinking of where i fit in as a designer. I think i have a large array of skills, from motion graphics, to video editing, editorial design, photography, product design – you name it, i can do it. There’s something about having these skills that makes me want to be the ‘Jack of all trades’ within in a work environment, but i don’t want to be a technician (because they design for others). I want to find a place of work where i can be included in anything, not as an accessory but because my insight is valid and my skills are required. I feel like if i specialized solely in motion graphics – like i originally planned, i would be holding myself back just a bit.

The reason for this post is that in the space of 4 months I’ve gone from wanting to have a motion graphics job at Sky, to feeling like i can do anything within the role of design, and its liberating as hell, and i wanted to acknowledge that.

An Example of my  diversity  – a 3D printed concept record based on a waveform.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

